Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

New Strain - Saryn

Revlid

Hello, everyone! This is actually the first post I've made on these forums, and I'm relatively new to Warframe as a whole - only started playing a little after Update 11. I was persuaded to start basically entirely by the existence of the Saryn - I have a strange fixation on biowarfare/corruption-themed classes, in whatever game I end up playing. As such, I started out as Excalibur, and ground my way to Sedna as directly as possible before grabbing Saryn as my second frame.

Unfortunately, she's a bit crap - something I came to recognize as I ploughed into higher-level content and compared her to other frames - using Rhino was a revelation, for example. Granted, she's not pre-update Valkyr tier, but she really isn't great - and since I love her theme, my solution is to work out how to change that rather than just benching the poor dear.

Saryn's issues mainly stem from the fact that when considered individually, her Abilities are pretty weak, and they're even worse when taken as a whole, as they overlap or outright clash rather than having any synergy.

Compare her to, say, the Rhino. His Abilities do not particularly support each other, but they all do distinctly different things, and are individually strong, so he's a lovely frame to play with. Saryn, by contrast, has Abilities that can be summarized as "ranged damage over time", "melee damage booster", "area of effect damage" and "escape". With the exception of Moult (I'm British, damn you, and I'll put "u" where it belongs), her Abilities not only do the same thing, they each do it in ways that make using her other Abilities less useful. If you're getting use out of Contagion, Venom isn't great, and if you're using Venom, Miasma is counterproductive, and so on.

So even if you were to just buff the numbers involved in each Ability to a useful level, she'd be badly set up.