Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Buff The Acrid!

Fomiru

Hi everyone, I wanted to talk about a gun that gives me a ton of Nostalgia today.  The Acrid, a weapon I set my sights on immediately when I started playing.  Not because it was OP or anything, but because I saw the picture and thought it looked funny. I used it for a long time, but after Damage 2.0 and some other fun guns releasing...  It fell off in usefulness.  It's a fun gun for sure!  Just, not very effective for anything beyond the star chart.

My idea is simply this, change how it's dot works.  Instead of applying a toxin dot, it applies whatever element you have in the gun as a dot scaling with mods.  And it stacks like old acrid, and buff the base damage a little bit again.  The Acrid is a mastery rank 7 weapon... And should be a more usable tool for that purpose.

The Acrid is a fun neat weapon, and I love it.  I just wish it was able to keep up with some of the other weapons in the game :]

I feel it could use a simple +5 or +10 to Status chance without being broken.

That'd feel about right when taking it to fight things other than the entirety of the Corpus fleets.

I will say, it's okay if a weapon specializes in only one faction, so long as the job is done right.

IMO Acrid does its job quite right.

-proceeds to eat away at Corpus numbers-

I find the Acrid's status chance to be broken already. Multishot + 2 dual stat mods bring it up to just above 50%, meaning every other trigger pull the Acrid procs status. That might not be spectacular, but the fact that it's pure toxin damage means there's only one status it can proc, whether it be corrosive, viral, or gas.