Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Spirit Of The Prime: Weapon Passives

ForumSmurf

TLDR: I have long sought to tackle the problem of weapon diversity. However all efforts have been futile barring buffing and nerfing all weapons to equalize the DPS playing field. I realized the irony of this method because essentally what happens is that every weapon is merely a cosmetic skin of eachother providing similar dps/dp-bullet. As a designer i run into catch-22. As gamer's we want diversity, but also as gamers we only want the best item.

I'm under immense conviction that giving weapons unique passives would solve this problem and and at the same instance open up so much more possibility. This system will also gives mastery rank a purpose. My design philosophy is that the more possibility you forge, the more opportunity for strategy to appear. Skip down to weapon passives if you do not wish to read.The passive will be called "Spirit of the Prime". Once a weapon reaches lvl 30, after an additional 400 kills a weapon's spirit will ascend into prime-hood and join it's legendary brothers. If the weapon is potato-ed  it will only need 200 kills. Additionally you only unlock 10% the passive's power each mastery rank and the full passive at mastery rank 10.

Original art by me for the Login event. Could also be new login for a "Spirit of the Prime" update.

20772vt.jpg

Reasons

So i was thinking long and hard today about what weapon i should equip and the age old question kept popping up in my mind, which pistol will net me more dps and a decent ammo efficiency so i don't run dry prematurely......pun intended. The revelation that swiftly came was a simple one. This clearly sucks; let's design a system that will allow for even more diversity.