Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

My Take On Warframe's Gear Progression

Repotion

I have recently been enjoying Warframe less and less, to the point I just started playing other games. I really love the universe DE has created and the general idea of Warframe (being a space ninja operating in a small squad), but the gameplay was starting to feel really boring and unengaging to me. I have been thinking a lot about why that is and I concluded that basically all of the problems I have with Warframe stem from its gear progression and scaling, subsequently enemy design and mission design. Everything just feels like a gearcheck.

What do I mean by the term gear progression? In the majority of MMOs (and generally RPGs) after you fully leveled your character the main focus is getting better gear, and by that, reaching higher power level with your character. In Warframe this is done by mods from basically the beginning of the game. And while mods are a really great concept promising lots of variabilty in builds, in reality they have major flaws:

1. The presence of mandatory mods

By mandatory mods I mean the mods you put on every build of every weapon. The obvious being flat out damage increasing mods (Serration, Split Chamber and their equivalents) and elemental mods, which are also straight up damage increases if put on a weapon. The main problem with these mods is that they significantly decrease the build variety, as they just increase the power level of a weapon in all situations whereas other mods are more situational and utility focused. And sacrificing power for utility isn't really a thing the vast majority of players does because as a consequence to how Warframe's scaling works, in high level missions the power always wins.

2. The Bonuses Mods Give