Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Gender Question

(XBOX)TJC569

If I am a male operator/tenno and "piloting" a female Warframe, is it appropriate to address the Warframe as he or she? Or is the Warframe an "it" and you would address the operator by their gender?

Sorry, this came up during a drunken discussion last night while playing and interesting to see what the community thinks. 

4 minutes ago, (XB1)TJC569 said:

If I am a male operator/tenno and "piloting" a female Warframe, is it appropriate to address the Warframe as he or she? Or is the Warframe an "it" and you would address the operator by their gender?

Sorry, this came up during a drunken discussion last night while playing and interesting to see what the community thinks. 

Does really matter truly. Usually in group conversation people address each other by Frame name (unless your with friends of course), so I'd say probably safe to use the gender of the frame since they all have designated genders 🙂

1 minute ago, Zyneris said:

Does really matter truly. Usually in group conversation people address each other by Frame name (unless your with friends of course), so I'd say probably safe to use the gender of the frame since they all have designated genders 🙂

It was more a lore thing, I think my friend and I were talking about how some random person in Cetus would address the Warframe walking around shopping.

Just now, (XB1)TJC569 said:

It was more a lore thing, I think my friend and I were talking about how some random person in Cetus would address the Warframe walking around shopping.

Oh! Well probably would be 'IT' since you can hear them talking when they see your frame and they usually say 'Tenno'. Same with Ordis, Lotus, and any other figure who has spoken to you. You're always referred to as 'Tenno' or 'Operator', which is probably a gender neutral word (assuming that the people of this system have always known that your frame is a simple machine with a person in it).