Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

5 Years of Playing: Nightwave may be the End

Okay, where do I begin? How about a little background info.

I started playing WF on the Xbox back in late 2014. Like many players at the time, I'd started my Xbox1 adventure with the original Destiny. Given the controversy surrounding the game, and the rate at which its content dried up, I quit Destiny cold turkey shortly after the Dark Below DLC, and I've never looked back. Seeking to satisfy the itch that Destiny afflicted me with, I discovered a little F2P title named Warframe, after following in the footsteps of a friend who similarly felt disenfranchised with Destiny.

Back in those days, Warframe was a rough thing; difficult to describe (it's like Destiny in every way, but its totally unlike Destiny in every way), even more difficult to understand than it is today, and it had a far smaller community (I kinda miss the old community; before WF got popular and poor chat moderation divided the community, region was actually populated by a majority of decent people). The game was wonky in its controls, movement, and combat; mechanics were cobbled together with seemingly little foresight regarding the implementation of new systems, and as such, the game would be changed in a fundamental way every other week by patches, hotfixes, and updates.

But Warframe was fun; it offered no lack of activities to partake in. Gameplay was simple; it was easy to pickup and combat wasn't so intense that you couldn't entertain a casual conversation with friends while mowing down armies of Grineer. The pace of the game was expansive, every new update brought new activities to partake in, new things to do, new mechanics to breakdown and optimize. And for many years, Warframe retained my faith and interests by staying true to this formula (apart from the Void rework; that was a historically terrible change).