Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Ember is the new Mag, and that's unacceptable

Blexander

I've been playing Ember since 2014, she's the first frame I set my sights on when I first started playing. The nerf she's received is still something I don't understand. When I try to rationalize it, it makes no sense.

1. Her damage?

Not that great tbh. You can have ~2k damage per hit (at the cost of efficiency/duration). Considering all she can deal is Heat damage, that's pretty ok for a non-nuke frame, since it's only effective against flesh and infested (which is already weak almost everything else under the sun by 25%+). The increasing cost/damage over time is a welcome change.

2. Her range?

There was no reason half her range at 100% charge. Her range wasn't even near the amount of range Equinox and Saryn have currently. The 4th ability is something akin to an "Ultimate". Gimping the range to the point Vacuum has a longer reach is outright insanity. Her range should've remained untouched. Maximization isn't a thing anymore. Back when it was 

3. She was OP because she can press 4 and AFK?

Not even close. Ember was AVERAGE. If you mean that with 100% status proc chance and/or Firequake that she can effectively halt any and all enemies in the range, you're objectively wrong. If you say "they've made her into a CC frame and that's good thing", you're wrong again. The state of the game has evolved into damage taking center stage. CC has become nearly obsolete, and, let's be fair, how can she utilize the CC on her ult (Firequake) if her range gets halved, as well as the stun on Accelerant lasting 2 seconds?

An idea I had for how the 4th ability could be changed:

Turn the ability into a charging ability like the 1st one. This way, you can choose to spend more energy to have the ability do more DoT while keeping the drain normal, or, having the ability be like it is, but removing the range reduction over time.