Anarbitrio

A ban in our world.

Posted (edited)

I'm not entirely sure what good it is to post this, except to have an outlet to vent some frustration.

Some background:

A reliable source of escapism is really necessary in many lines of work. I am a college instructor and a Board Certified Behavior Analyst, working predominantly with children with Autism, Down Syndrome, Cerebral palsy, and any form of aggressive and/or self-injurious behavior. My fiancee' is a data analyst at the University of Memphis, and a researcher in the areas of lung cancer, palliative care, and child obesity.
While our professions can grant a huge deal of satisfaction (And they do), they also provide (like many other jobs) a lot of frustration and heart-breaking moments. 

Part of what brought us together as a couple was a combination of being originally from another country (Italy for me, China for her), and having overlapping passions and hobbies that served us as a way to put the world on pause for an hour or two when we need it. 

Warframe is (well, was) our main outlet. We both love sci-fi set in a future where the works of the previous civilization are partially lost. We both love the emotionally charged writing and the sense of exploration. I can't even begin to describe how much the story of Rell in "The Chains of Harrow" affected me, in no small part due to my field. Being able to visit this world on an almost daily basis was a luxury we were glad to have. Heck, three of my clients play Warframe.