Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

"end game", rewards, sustainable content, and my thoughts

NovusKnight

I have been thinking a bit about how DE goes about in including new content. New missions, tilesets, frames, mechanics, etcetera.

I have been playing for 3 years, and leisurely reached MR 23. I tried out most of everything by now. 

over time, as things were added, I see a pattern repeat itself.

let's imagine a new feature called X. X can be anything. A tileset, a mission, a warframe. 

DE needs to invest development time to implement X, which means paying specialized professionals to, for instance, model and texture the warframes, or program mechanics behind new weapons, or spend hours in a studio going over sound files. While I am not a videogame developer, I study animation - I visited several studios, and believe me, this kind of work can be deceptively expensive to fund.

naturaly, upon implementing X, DE needs to get their investment back. That's, for instance, why while also offering the option of acquiring things for free, they offer to just sell them outright, for money. This is pure business strategy, and in my opinion, fairly respectful towards customers in how it is implemented.

so, DE has to come up with a balance where if X is too easy to get, no one buys them, thus their profits start to drop off; and if X is too hema- I mean, hard to get, people start being unhappy with them. Good will can be easily lost by repeatedly coming across as greedy, just ask Activision or EA or Bethesda. They'd know.

usually DE makes X grind to get, and tends to do so in a way that pulls people into a desired game mode or time sink. Here are a few examples.

-redesign of the corpus gas city, which meant a ton of new assets, effects, units, map design, spy vaults, etcetera, was made obligatory due to introducing Hexenon, a new resource present in all content since, which drops exclusively in Jupiter.