Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Teenagers are interesting

novalery

they‘re hyped to these “new thing” despite its being old...

its offtopic time

let set the background of the story a bit. I’m a teacher. And sometimes students like to share their interest with me. and as a teacher, sometimes i’m interested to know what’s “hype” lately.

so here’re some of the things that happen lately:

a student start a conversation with me about this “new thing” that have been the talk of “many” Lately. It was PM2.5 and PM10 levels of the city. So he bring out his mac and showed me a site with the scale and stuff and tell me that they “just started” showing this near a road.
To which i casually reply with: “actually the electronic billboards showing those data have been around since i can remember, especially near an industrial area and major highway”, and, i guess my teacher instinct kicks in, ask him “what do you think that scale means?”

His reply was interesting. he went defensive, telling me that those billboard are new, he never see it before. Also he said its a scale that show the CO2 level, and according to this, the CO2 level of our city is very bad. ( he probably never seen it before, its not that high, and also not CO2, though there is a correlation...)

And so i start explaining what PM2.5 and 10 are and why they’ve been the talk as of late, i.e. the forrest fire that occur in many regions Lately, shows him the government meteorological and climatological site with no add that actually provide a better explanations of what it is and so on.

thankfully he receive my explanation well.. unlike the next one:

a student start a conversation with a teacher that sits right next to me, he was asking about something. So i ask what is it the he was so exited about.