Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Farewell, Warframe. It's a shame it had to be this way.

6 years ago I started playing Warframe. Damn, I still remember when there used to be stamina orbs in this game. Good times.

Today, I'm leaving it. Not because I got bored or frustrated with the game itself. If anything, it has evolved so beautifully thanks to the amazing, dedicated and inspired work of the DEvs.

I'm leaving because I can't support the ambiguous censorship decisions that DE condones.

Recently, I've been encountering several cases of unclear censorship decisions in Region chat, and after struggling to get a clear picture, I can no longer stand for this. It seems that Region chat mods have absolute power to decide what is and isn't alright. There are no clear rules they follow, seeing as the ToS of "excessive cussing" and "insults directed to attack a person or a group" are not strictly kept and are up to the mod's discretion. I've seen people kicked and suspended from region chat even for things that weren't insults or personal attacks at other players, e.g. there was a time where saying "primed disappointment" once would get you kicked, even though it doesn't break the ToS. Meanwhile, I see people use standalone cuss words without a problem, as well as discuss clearly mature themes (like Warframes from a sexual perspective) with no consistent or clear action taken. It's like it's up to the mods to decide what we should and shouldn't be offended with, and we have to merely gamble on what's on today's menu of blacklisted words. You can't say anything remotely critical without fearing that you'll be booted for accidentally saying something a mod doesn't like, or dropping a harmless b-word unintended to hurt anyone, while watching others say the f-word or discuss sexual kinks that are clearly not game-friendly with no repercussion.