Jade Shadows: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Reimagining Hydroid

Tsukuyomi_GR

1. A quick intro? (If you are bored to read it, which is perfectly understandable skip to two)

So after seven years of playing the game, I finally decided to write my first thread in the forums. The winds are in the favor of warframe kit reworks and with the deluxe skin on its way, it seems that there are many people who want one for Hydroid. I won’t say if it’s necessary or not, though I feel some improvements to him would be quite welcome and since he’s my main I would like to give it a try.

What I wished for when I started playing the game was for a water frame since I love water, a versatile element which in most cases in gaming is either overshadowed by ice in the offensive aspects or is mainly used for healing. Yet back then I couldn’t imagine that not only they would add a water frame later but that this game would keep going strong 7 years later. Hydroid was the reason for returning two times back to the game after big intervals, first time for the non-primed version with the atrocious beacon farm and second time for the prime version.

I liked Hydroid’s appearance and his kit despite if it was efficient or not. Each of the helmets gave a different aspect to the frame, something that has risen from the deep (main helmet), a captain (Triton), a sea beast (Ketos). Although I appreciated the pirate references and inspirations, in regards to his appearance, I wasn’t quite fond of their influence at certain skills, looking at you Tentacle Swarm. And while you could say I considered Tentacle Swarm something as a flaw in Hydroid, primarily they were masses of water in the shape of tentacles at least. Then came Hydroid Prime, one of the best primed frames when it comes to appearance for me but it made it a real flaw by bringing with him an octopus with actual tentacles.