Jade Shadows: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

New excalibur deluxe body color

Horactius

Just a small honest opinion of mine.

I love the excalibur deluxe skin that reb showed on her twitter and i think that it looks awesome but i can't help thinking that the navy skin through out the body look a bit too plain.

I think this could be improved with just a little more shading to highlight the body shape just like how the original concept look so I tried adding some quick shading with PS and it already feels better for me.

Original pic:

Spoiler

ELikGHUUwAAZTTe.png

Edited:

Spoiler

excal_delux_recolor.jpg

I am by no means an expert nor am i saying it is a bad. I just think that maybe it could still be improved while it is not officially released into the game.

Thank you for reading this and have a nice day/night! 🙂

• Like 1

18 minutes ago, Horactius said:

I think this could be improved with just a little more shading to highlight the body shape just like how the original concept look so I tried adding some quick shading with PS and it already feels better for me.

Not trying to rain on your parade, but I’m pretty sure that the main “body” is supposed to be one flat color. In the concepts posted to his Artstation page, the color tint layout on the bottom shows the right exposed section as such, rather then being affected by the other color channels:

Spoiler

liger-inuzuka-prototype-sketches.jpg?156

I’m certain that the reason why the concept art version seems to “pop” more is simply because the artist added shading and lighting to demonstrate how the materials should appear. This can be confirmed by comparing the left and right turnarounds of the final concept art, where the left-hand one has shading applied to it while the right-hand one does not:

Spoiler

liger-inuzuka-excalibur-deluxe-final-by-

My guess is that he wanted the body to have a glossy luster to it, similar to obsidian.

Edited by ExcaliburUmbra

9 minutes ago, ExcaliburUmbra said: