Jade Shadows: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Reconsider Helmet Stats

Joviex

Make the STATS optional.

A switch in the appearance tab to turn a helmet's statistics on/off.

People who want that mix/max get what they want: pros and cons.

People who want cosmetics get what they want: to just look cool with no penalties.

I see very little incentive to actually try and make the alerts (uber rare anyhow) if they are just cosmetic.

I'm an engineer. I like stats.

I definitely see zero reason to spend plat on them for just cosmetics when the goal is to kick &#! - quickly.

But to each their own, and I think both can be accommodated.

Same for scarves. I will never buy one, and I don't see any blueprints or BP drops for them, so, plat only for no pro/con == no thanks.

At least make those, as the cosmetic helmets, build-able.

Make the STATS optional.

A switch in the appearance tab to turn a helmet's statistics on/off.

This would be nice, but it still wouldn't be optimal.  Even if I liked Loki's 2nd alternate helmet, and could disable its stat changes, I would still never use it.  Why?  Because the 1st alternate helmet would supply better stats (with the stats enabled, of course).  In order to truly solve the problem, the helmet stats need to be interchangeable.  It could work very similarly to the way in which sentinel weapons are now interchangeable. 

Same for scarves. I will never buy one, and I don't see any blueprints or BP drops for them, so, plat only for no pro/con == no thanks.

At least make those, as the cosmetic helmets, build-able.

As far as I'm concerned, asking for purely cosmetic items (such as sentinel add-ons and scarves) to be acquirable without platinum is getting into greedy territory.  I don't mean that as a personal insult or anything; I just believe that DE needs to make its money somewhere, and selling cosmetics is the most consumer friendly way to do so.