Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

A rather unique Warframe Fanart

loosec4nnon16

I wanted those warframe figures, but they were sold out, so i had an idea: "Why not try to make one?"

Having a 3D printer at my disposal, i looked upon a 3D model, then I downloaded the 3D model from Steam Workshop for tennogen development.

But that's not enough. A cool figure must have a cool pose to print, but which one? Well...that´s tough, what should i do?

Although i have little expertise in CAD software, I tried Fusion 360 to tinker with the 3D model, since i knew Blender wasn´t going to cut it. 

About those figure thing, I had inspiration from my small collection of 1:6 scale Hot Toys figures, non-scale Amazing Yamaguchi Revoltech figures, and some old Master Grade Gundams i assembled back in 2006. With that in mind, i leaned towards the idea of making an articulated figure.

In Fusion, i started drawing, joints and tools, blew the dust off my Wacom, and started drawing the cuts to the mesh.

Little by little, Nyx started to take shape. After some trial and error i managed to get a standing figure:

yHFmDsi.jpg

But something was off, so I did it again.

Some days later, I got another prototype standing. Then more trial and error, and a handy dremel, i finished the first version:

MWeiOYh.jpg

L5VVZjc.jpg

And now some pose test

qgF3KQ4.jpg

C8X5yIh.jpg

T1BOnBg.jpg

Now we slap in a nikana for extra coolness factor

425zROG.jpg

9LYoziF.jpg

ffThld0.jpg

FknCZdX.jpg

ARLYOeG.jpg

Agf7Pmv.jpg

LTQRJFW.jpg

boBAJCU.jpg

And there we have it, a Nyx Figure, next step is the surface refining and painting.

qzc6LJ7.jpg

This prototype is approx. 11 inches tall, i have to test if this print is scalable to smaller formats, so far its on par with 1:6 scale figures.

So, what are your thoughts on this "Fanart"? 

• Like 28