Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Migraines and Vomitting from Adaptive Exposure. What to do?

Oberonight

I tried playing a defense mission today and couldn't last more than 2 waves before I had to alt+4 and rush to the bathroom to vomit.

The inconsistent lighting and constant fluctuations in brightness brought on by adaptive exposure is extremely damaging to me and other light sensitive individuals. My siblings report constant migraines now and we've had to drop our daily afternoon sessions because of this.

Apparently, DE has confirmed that they won't give us an option to toggle adaptive exposure off so I'm here to ask if there are any workarounds. It sucks psychically not being able to play a game I like, especially because I've been playing it just fine for 6 years now until adaptive exposure was forced on.

Is there anything I can do? Any 3rd party program, any config tweaks, etc., anything to tone down the adaptive exposure?

20 hours ago, Oberonight said:

Is there anything I can do? Any 3rd party program, any config tweaks, etc., anything to tone down the adaptive exposure?

I wouldnt suggest using 3rd party programs because you could get banned, I mean even support doesnt know when you may bget banned or not they just say to use at your own risk, safest not to use any 3rd party programs. 

As for what to do I think I have effect intensity or something like that to lowest because I couldnt handle the particles and all that nonsence going on the screen, dont know if it helps you in any way

If you have an NVIDIA graphics adapter and GeForce Experience installed, you can ALT-F3 and try various filters to try to tame the bevy of colors. If you're using an external display (vs laptop screen), it may have its own color settings, black levels, and so forth as well which you could try to mitigate the effects.