Fairly new player asking: How to Improve survivability?

Question

I'm fairly new to the game (been playing for close to 2 weeks) and I've been mostly mainlining the game doing whatever quests I can unlock. I did some grinding on the side (mostly to get the warframes/weapons I got from quest rewards) plus the obligatory grind you need to do to unlock the junctions. I'm now at Neptune and I feel like I did something wrong because for the most part I've been surviving without any major issues (just dying a couple of times per mission since europa but it's manageable) but now enemies just shred my shields and HP in seconds.
I admit I haven't engaged fully on the mods part, mainly because it's too overwhelming and honestly I really didn't need to because autoslot was working, until now. I'm fairly sure that my huge lack of good mods is also to blame.

Since that I've been reading the wiki in hopes of getting up to speed with what do I need to focus on to improve my survival and that's when I realized I need mods I haven't even heard of.

So, TL;DR: I'm a noob that got pretty far in the game by sheer luck and slammed into a brick wall.

Regarding equipment I currently own:
Warframes: Excalibur[30], Frost[30], Hydroid Prime[30] (Thanks Tennocon), Oberon[30], Rhino[6], Vauban[30]
Primary: Boar[30], Braton[30], Corinth[30], Gorgon[30], Miter[30], Vulkar[30]
Secondary: Athodai[30], Cestra[30], Kraken[30], Seer[30], Twin Gremlins[30], Stubba[0]
Melee: Amphis[30], Cronus[30], Fragor[30], Heat Sword[30], Obex[30], Lecta[30], Skana[30], Xoris[30]

What are my options? (besides learning how to mod correctly) Should I go back to earth and grind each planet for mods?

Thanks in advance to anyone that takes the time to respond!

18 answers to this question