Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

SUGGESTION - Dedicated Servers

Rovaeden

SUGGESTION - Dedicated Servers

As the title suggests, I think it is high time for DE to open a dedicated server farm.
Speaking of farms, I think they probably have enough players now and have therefore farmed enough plat from us to easily afford to set up some dedicated servers.

Replies about the costs and disadvantages incoming... Not that I am 100% against them.

But at this point in time, not counting stuff like crossplay/crossave, I feel like the lack of dedicated servers is one of the main things holding Warframe back.

Sure, it'd be costly, but so it is for all other titles which implement such a feature. And my greatest hope is that the lack of host migrations and other such nasty situations keeps the player count at levels which allow for those dedicated servers to pay for themselves.

Still, I'm not an expert by any means, so while I agree in terms of hopes and feelings, that's all I can do to support such an ideal.

DE staff: It has been suggested that we divert a portion of our income to renting and managing dedicated servers! Of course will have to completely rewrite our netcode from scratch as well but we can bear the cost, time and content drought it will cause right?

DE upper management:

Bugs Bunny's "No": blank meme template

1 minute ago, (XBOX)TyeGoo said:

Phoenix Labs

are you... are you comparing Dauntless to... well... ANYTHING that is a full game? and... and... you... wow. you don't even see how having less players would also keep the costs low? it's... mindblowing.

anyway, no, with millions of players the fraction of whales cannot pay for dedicated servers AND maintain DE as a developer that develops and improves the game.

4 minutes ago, (XBOX)TyeGoo said:

explain to me how Phoenix Labs started and still runs dedicated servers