Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

I would hate to be a new player right now.

(XBOX)TehChubbyDugan

There is of course the contested "Nightwave vs Alerts" and the awful handling of NW and its maintenance.  When I started there were plenty of alerts for Catalysts and Reactors.  I still bought a few because they certainly weren't unlimited, but there were far more than there are now.  I could go on about this, but this thread isn't about NW specifically.

There's all the grind increases.  Grind was pretty high when I started playing.  The grind for Deimos stuff made me take a hard pass and just buy the things from it off other players.  Some may say this is a good thing because it lets you skip content you don't like.  I say it's negating content and extending content droughts because all the replayability is focused on hardcore grind and tiny drop chances rather than something being replayable because it's fun.  If you have great luck the content disappears in an instant when you defy the odds and get all the drops quickly.  If you hate the content and skip the grind (which is the main portion of the content instead of being gameplay focused.) by using plat then the content also doesn't last very long and you're left with a sour taste in your mouth.  Grind increases are one of the main reasons I think players are leaving and new players aren't staying very long.