The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Nemesis System Patent

DawnoftheWhiteFury

Now that Warner Bros. have patented the Nemesis System found in their Shadows of Middle Earth games, will this affect Warframe in any way related to the Kuva Lich and upcoming Queenpin systems? I am no lawyer, but I had concerns upon hearing this news considering the Nemesis system was direct inspiration to the Lich system in Warframe,

Patenting a certain system is one thing. Mainly the ways it works. No lawyer either but you can’t patent gameplay. You can patent ideas. The code how the nemesis system works. But never the mechanic. Stuff like that would mean no game ever can have a nemesis system, which is not going to happen.....

While the language in the application is fairly obtuse - as most patent claims tend to be - the “short” version is that the patent covers a system featuring procedurally-generated NPCs that exist in a hierarchy and interact with and will remember the actions of players, have their appearance/behavior altered by players, and whose place in that hierarchy can change and affect the position of other NPCs in said hierarchy (and yes, that’s the simplified version).

There is no hierarchy with liches, liches do not remember player actions, our actions do not change lich behavior or appearance, or their position in a nonexistent hierarchy.