Jade Shadows: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

The Mastery System Stresses Me Out

JollierThanThou

I started playing at the beginning of Update 7. I have every Warframe and most weapons. I'm rank 11 now.

Mastery stresses me the F*** out.

To me, each new weapon isn't a bonus, but an obligation. I'm not playing this event to experiment with the Brakk. I'm playing it out of fear that I will miss out on 3,000 mastery points forever. My viewpoint has become so distorted that every exclusive weapon seems like an invitation to fall further and further down the mastery leaderboard. I started behind the eight ball to the tune of 12,000 points (Braton Vandal, Lato Vandal, Skana Prime, and Lato Prime) and I can't afford to miss any more.

I'm damned lucky to have the Gorgon, Snipetron, and other retired weapons.

I don't have a solution yet. I just wanted to raise this concern: The Mastery system, combined with exclusive weapons, isn't creating the incentives you designed it to create.

I don't understand the concept of not playing in the event to "experiment" with a weapon. Equip it, bring it, rank it!

I haven't used a rank 30 weapon this whole event, I've leveled a few melee, a primary and a secondary. I also ranked up a frame and a half. Yes, I used an unranked frame in this event, and nekros of all frames.

But if you don't participate in the event, wont you miss the chance for the new weapons?

The mastery system is stupid.

I don't like that weapons are xp locked.

I don't like how you have to use different weapons to get mastery. 

Just let me use what I want.

No, this is bad too, then you would have all nee people start the game with Flux Rifles and Acrids, this is a horrible idea.

I don't understand the concept of not playing in the event to "experiment" with a weapon. Equip it, bring it, rank it!