Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

How about an in-game DPS calculator?

TenTonneSkeleton

I've been playing this game for about 4 years now. Only today did I realize the game calculates damage types reading your mod upgrades left to right, top to bottom. Not only that but you can swap polarities without ranking it up again and without using forma! Yeah, I'm a newb. MR28 3000hrs in the game. The truth is, damage types never really mattered to me until steel path. I never do long endurance runs.

My point is, there are a lot of concepts in this game that take a while to fully grasp and apply. I'm still learning, especially when it comes to how damage is calculated in this game (which seems to change constantly. What do you mean Primed Point Blank isn't good anymore?) And I think if it's difficult for me to grasp, how about for newer players? Are there any actual tutorials for this in game that would be helpful?

One of the main ways to help mitigate this problem I think is an in-game damage calculator where on the weapon upgrade screen you can plug in a given faction or enemy and have it give you a rough approximation of your DPS against that faction using your current loadout. I know this would never be 100% accurate, but it would go a long way I think to help people make informed choices.

I want to see hard evidence for why damage % stacking has diminishing returns. Are primed faction damage mods even worth considering for most weapons? Now throw in status and crit chance. I aced calculus in high school and I still struggle to understand how damage is calculated. One could write an entire thesis for warframe damage calculation.

Overframe.gg's builder does a decent enough job when it comes to calculating conditionals.