Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

The New Player Experience: Should DE add a mentor system?

FrigidMesa

So after seeing this video I have been thinking DE should add a mentor system to the game.

https://youtu.be/iutAnzTT9W0

I think it would be a good Way to help with some of the aimlessness new player feel once they complete the tutorial. Add incentives for Both mentor and student and You would make it much easier for new players to get a handle on some of the more complicated aspects of the game.

EDIT: Let me be clear I have been playing the game for a few years and have a decently high MR (29 but I am too lazy to level more stuff for mastery ATM) so this is more coming form a position of reasonable experience of the game. 

EDIT2: I notice a lot of posts seem to think I am saying that new players don't have any direction when what I really mean is that that the players are hit with so much right off the back after the tutorial that they have no idea what to do first and end up getting overwhelmed. I speak form experience as I have interacted with a lot of new players that had recently started playing that had no idea what they should be doing outside of clearing mission nodes. Also this system would be an optional system like many other mentor systems in games are. IF you are still confused I recommend you watch the vid I linked of someone new playing the game and giving there reactions and first impression and you might get a better idea of where I am coming from.

Just now, FrigidMesa said:

So after seeing this video I have been thinking DE should add a mentor system to the game.

https://youtu.be/iutAnzTT9W0

I think it would be a good Way to help with some of the aimlessness new player feel once they complete the tutorial. Add incentives for Both mentor and student and You would make it much easier for new players to get a handle on some of the more complicated aspects of the game.

Im L1 and im aimless whats you problem with it?