Out of bounds, self damage and risk

(XBOX)Ancient Mutt

When falling into a chasm or lava, whatever, I think it should take a life. I also want self-damage back so that you kill yourself if you're lazy with aiming a weapon (including shooting your foot with a Lato by accident or something like that). 

As a measure for fall damage, we could have companion mods that use tractor beams that lift us back out at the cost of being vulnerable to enemy damage (a Grineer could still shoot the drone or hound to cancel the rescue attempt).

So yeah, bad parkour and bad aim could fail the mission. I want that element of risk. 

Why was that taken away? I still don't understand why self-damage was switched off. 

Not sure if fall damage/death was ever a thing before. I only started playing 2 years ago so have no idea about before then.

If a compromise is necessary, what if we have the option to turn on these risk factors in settings ourselves with reminders on loading screens that they're on?

• Like 4

4 minutes ago, (XBOX)General Poke said:

When falling into a chasm or lava, whatever, I think it should take a life.

No

I also want self-damage back so that you kill yourself if you're lazy with aiming a weapon (including shooting your foot with a Lato by accident or something like that). 

Hell no. Find a different game if you want this type of “challenge”. 

So yeah, bad parkour and bad aim could fail the mission. I want that element of risk. 

Thats not risk. Thats a on-off switch for life.

Why was that taken away? I still don't understand why self-damage was switched off. 

Because it was a bad system for a game like warframe. It caused AoE weapons to be rarely used except for with certain frames (looking at you revenant) and it didnt provide a satisfactory game loop. As someone said in another topic, it wasnt self damage, it was self annihilation.