Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Camera Tilting Torture

Ginthus

I generally do not have any issues with camera shake as it usually just does what it says, it moves the image in all directions without touching the cameras rotation. I tried to analyse why I just get sick from some of these camera movements made by certain guns recoil and it has all to do with rotation. I am going to use the roll, pitch and yaw to explain the movements that become problematic, see image below.

The-yaw-pitch-and-roll-angles-in-the-hum
Figure 1. The yaw, pitch, and roll angles in the human head motion

I am not a doctor but if you can read this text and move your head I am certain that you can verify my statements to be true. Human eyes automatically adjust for roll, pitch and yaw so unless you are upside down or in zero g you wont have a problem knowing exactly which direction is up. As a result, the image you in your head is also not rotating. I know there is tons of education videos on the subject which explains this 100 times better than I tried, like the semicircular canals in your ear which is kinda like your rotation sensor.

It seems that almost all guns either zoom in/out and/or pitch the camera slightly, which is completely fine as its what every game does (even though this makes zero sense since we are in 3rd person). I would have thought that the pitch rotation would make me sick but it just doesn't affect me, maybe at some ridiculous levels of rotation. However there are some weapons that for some reason combines the pitch with yaw rotations, I think I saw one that did roll which is bordering insanity. Please refrain from ever artificially introducing this, PLEASE. On a side note, all these rotations are extremely unnatural and you would never experience your inner world rotating like this unless you are intoxicated, maybe.