Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

A Few Changes To Map Design To Make Loot Hunting More Fun

Notso

A major part of this game is farming for resources, which is, at the moment, a chore. Find locker, open locker, collect loot, move to next locker. Find canister, smash canister, collect loot, move on. Over the past week and a bit since I started playing Warframe, I've been thinking of a few ways we could make looting more exciting. Personally, I love exploring the entire level that's been generated for me. It also means I usually have to play in Solo mode, because everybody wants to rush through the level, as there is no incentive to open all the lockers, as you end up with a higher "resource acquisition per hour" from rushing through levels as fast as possible and simply opening all the obvious loot rooms.

"Hidden" Loot Rooms (Video)

Basically, change the proceedural generator to add loads more "secret" rooms like this one. You can "see" that they're on the minimap, but you have to explore to find them. Because the rooms are pulled from a set, it chould be changed so these "hidden" rooms do not show up on the minimap, and you have explore the nooks of a room to find them. The one in the video is a good example as the room is obvious to the well knowledged, but only the ones who actually go down and explore it will see that it is there.

The "Asteroid" tileset is leaps and bounds ahead of the "Corpus Ship" tileset, in terms of "hidden" loot rooms [i've seen two types, one where you wallrun along some rocks through into an open window in true space ninja style (I'll add a video tomorrow), and another where you run up a thin ledge (or super jump if you're Excalibur)]. However, hidden loot rooms should be stuffed to the brim with "active" lockers. It's a bit of a dissapointment when you find one of the few "hidden" rooms and there is only one locker to open.

"Locked" Loot Rooms (Picture)

HHrRvsK.jpg