Dante Unbound: Known Issues ×
Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

This Game Is Trying To Melt My Graphics Card.

Salganos

And today, I found out how and why: the framerate is completely uncapped.

After an issue a few weeks ago with a dead secondary outtake fan on my case, I found that my card's bios was not changing the fan speed with temperature and had to set up software control to do it for me, so I've been carefully monitoring my GPU's temperature since.  I also opened the case and propped a window fan against it in case of emergencies (I'm waiting on replacement parts). Then I started playing Warframe again, and found that unlike with every other game, the GPU was still getting insanely hot when I played this one, which I hadn't been playing before the issue.  I thought it was especially odd how sometimes Warframe would raise the GPU temperature above 90 °C no matter what, and other times would never get above 80 (both of which are higher than I would like, though 80 is tolerable), with no change in settings.  Even odder was how changing the graphical settings from highest to lowest had no effect on the resulting temperatures.

Worth noting, I have the game on borderless fullscreen, because on normal fullscreen the mouse cursor has some weird-&#! disgusting acceleration horribleness going on, and I have v-sync off because it makes even the cursor lag VERY noticeably.  I will not be changing either, because v-sync is terrible and unnecessary and I don't get screen tearing, and until normal fullscreen stops implementing its own absolutely revolting mouse settings, that's staying off too.