Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

A short piece of fanfiction I wrote.

Sanjiyan

Hi guys. I just started playing this a few days ago and I have to say, I'm really loving the aesthetic of the setting, particularly the Tenno: It might not be exactly what you intended, but to me at least they really come off as this enigmatic, almost mythological race of terrifying, inscrutable killing machines, suddenly making a resurgence in a corrupt solar system that long ago forgot about the biomechanical demigods slumbering amid the stars. Not quite evil, but it's hard to describe anything quite so genocidal as a Tenno as 'good'.

In any case, I liked the idea of the Tenno being something more (or at least other) than human; something strange and unknowable. I liked it so much that on a whim I decided to write a bit of fanfiction for them! It probably doesn't match up perfectly to the actual lore, but I enjoyed writing it all the same. I'm also pretty out of practice when it comes to writing, but still: I hope you enjoy it!

"Squad D, why aren't you at your post?" The Corpus comms officer leaned in over the desk to reach the microphone. Why did they have to design the blasted things to be so far away? Had they never heard of ergonomics? "Squad D, your drones have gone dark. Confirm status? Do you require engineering support?"

Static. Silence. He sighed in frustration and switched to another channel.

"Squad F, Squad D has stopped responding. Please check in and see if they've got another busted transmitter. Confirm copy."

Yet more silence. Feeling slightly unnerved but not quite knowing why, the comms officer switched channels again. "Squad B, can you guys-"

"He's too fast!" A familiar voice suddenly blared into the comm officer's ear, making him jump almost out of his seat at the sudden noise. It was the squad leader

"Wait, what? Who's too fast? Squad B, confirm status!" He stammered. The response turned his veins to ice.