Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

An Open Letter/discussion About The New Movement...

illumi

SO.. A vent about the new movement system. It was bound to happen at some point, right?

Preface: I'm a software engineer for a large international company who sells software to other large international companies. I'm a product owner so the software I work on is my responsibility (and I regularly get feedback from my customers).

Anyway, I'm trying to decide: what is going on? Why is bullet jump a thing? And why the hell is aim glide a thing?!!?! For a player with a mere 700 hours in the game this is an odd thing to happen. Actually, this has happened to me in another game once before and I'll tell that story shortly. 

For me this new movement system is a bit odd. It was marketed to us (the players) as something to be more accessible for new players. Something that would stop players having issues with mashing multiple buttons to move around the environment. Something that would be more ergonomic or stop cramp or carpel tunnel (I've never had any physical issues playing this game, maybe others have. I don't know) but what has really changed? I want to sprint so I'm still holding shift all the time. I'm probably holding shift even more now stamina has been removed. I also want to use the new bullet jump thing so I'm mashing CTRL+space. Before u17 I was sprinting holding shift and mashing CTRL+E so the only thing that has changed is that I'm retraining 700 hours of muscle memory to try to forget the E key and now mash space instead. Not only that but I'm moving through the environment much, much slower. How is this fun? Why has this changed? Retraining muscle memory from the E key to Space bar for slower and less rewarding movement isn't exactly what I had in mind for an 'improvement'.