Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Calopteryx Syandana (Wip)

Cremesin

Hello everyone!

I've decided I wanted to create an insect wing/ dragonfly inspired syandana for Tennogenl and I finally have the confirmation I can legally use our school's licences to make the project come to life (I'm a 3D student and my home licence wouldn't allow "for profit" work), so I am proud to present to you the Calopterys Syandana!

I'll be updating this thread as I progress and I'm always open to suggestion, questions, comments and constructive criticism on my work.

concepts:

First pass:

Syandana_S.jpg

After some input from friends, I decided on this as a final concept (mixing the 2 on the top right):

Syandana_V2_S.jpg

Additional info:

-The "wings" will have a gradient from the secondary and tint 3 colors.
-They will also be shiny metallic (we need more metallic syandana!) and have a subtle raised insect winglike pattern.
-The attachment point will be semi gloss, non-metallic in the primary color to fit with the airframe on which it will be.

-The black parts will be in tint 4 and will also have a semi gloss non-metallic finish. The overall material might look different from the attachment.
-The white dots on the rim are to be the energy color.
-The syandana will be composed of the base along with 2 sets of "wings" (one big and one small), with hopefully independent cloth physics.

Fun fact: the syandana is named after an order of damselfly. I'm open to different naming suggestions though!

oooohooohoo, me gusta. I want it nao.

In all seriousness, these are some beautiful concepts. I can't wait to see what you can cook up in terms of a model. As for tinting, maybe try a couple things, different schemes, before deciding on what patterns you'll have.

As for shininess, I'm all for shiny things. But with nothing flat matte on it, it might not look too good... Or maybe that's just my opinion clouding judgment.