The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Volt Prime Viable?

ShieldMaMeat

Question

So im a new player (about 2 weeks) and got Excal, Oberon, Nyx prime and nyx. Im looking into Volt because im a electrician irl and like the whole electrical aspect of the frame naturally. Wondering how viable the frame is before i dish out plat to buy him in trade. I hear his 4 is pretty much mute in terms of usability. Also a build to go by would be pretty good. Also mostly looking to do some void T2-T4 and maybe solo some planet stuff or capture voids. Just want a overview of the frame basically. 

12 answers to this question

He has decent Crowd Control with his Shock and Overload since they proc electricity which is a small AOE stun effect. He can be very mobile with his Speed and his Shield can protect both himself and an important objective, the shield can also add 50% damage as electric damage and firing through multiple shields adds more damage to your rounds.

Overall he is a decent Warframe but not that great for high level unless you like camping in one spot and using only your ranged weapons since his damage abilities (Shock and Overload) are not powerfull enough to deal with high level enemies not to mention that he practically has 0 crowd control against Infested once Ancient Healers spawn since all electric procs will be redirected to the Ancient Healer.

If you want more information you should check the Warframe wiki.

He can survive pretty easily. Really depends how you mod him.

You can go with more duration for his electric shield, gives you pretty nice damage and if you have a crit weapon (Soma/Prime) it will make it hit a lot harder.

Or you can go power strength to help out with his 1st ability to take out those trash mobs or use range for CC against higher lvl'd enemies, either in the Void or Starchart. Power strength for his 2nd ability for speed runs on capture missions is pretty nice too.