Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Melee Questions from a Newbie

Shwob

Question

First off, I'd like to say that I'm very new to this game but have been loving it so far and no-lifing it pretty hard. What I have enjoyed the most are the long survival missions and defense missions that just get increasingly harder as you go on. My personal playstyle is getting up into the fray with a big melee weapon and cutting stuff down. I really don't want to be using a gun if I can avoid it.

So heres where my questions come in:

What might be the best Frame/Weapon combo for surviving long defense or survival missions while still dishing out major melee only damage?

I started with excalibur but he seems pretty squishy once I get further along and his passive doesnt seem to work with the larger swords, from what I've seen and read.

Ive also tried valkyr but everything with her seems centered around her ult and not your equipped melee weapon.

Also any general modding tips for either frame or weapon would be helpful.

Thanks!

23 answers to this question

There's a way of playing Valkyr that suits your playstyle nicely without using her 4th ability constantly. Get the augment mod "Eternal War" (since you're new, you'll need to trade with another player to get it) which boosts the duration of her Warcry for every kill you get. Then build to use Warcry and keep it going. (That is, high power and duration, poor efficiency and range.) Her high armor and boost to melee speed is very fun. If she gets low on health, a few seconds of Hysteria should be enough lifesteal to get back to full.