Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Soma is boring. Need a punchy, "feels good" Assault Rifle primary.

Kemenril

Question

Anyone who has ever played Mass Effect 3 knows that the Mattock is an amazing weapon, not because it's the most powerful (it's not) or the hardest to get (it's easy). But it *feels* great to use, is accurate, and reasonably powerful. Part of that are just the subtle things: the animations, the sound, the handling. 

When I started playing a month ago, I got the Soma Prime with the Prime deal. It's an awesome weapon. Really. It just grinds enemies up and basically there's no reason to use any other rifle. 

And I'm finding it soooooooo boring.

I'm not a meta-fanatic -- I don't do the DPS math. I like my weapons to be effective, but will not cry if I'm using something that's only in the Top 10, as opposed to Top 3. 

What I'm looking for:

• I'm looking for a Primary Assault Rifle that provides a satisfying "feel" (I know, I know, that's vague) -- one that gives the sensation of firing a big gun, but not one that is gonna spray bullets all over a room.
  • I'd like the weapon to be good against groups of enemies, as opposed to single-targets. 
  • Good sound (Braton has this, for example).
  • Long range is not a huge issue, but does have to be able to hold its own in short range. 
  • Medium-to-high rate of fire. 
  • Medium-to-high ammo size. 

What I'm NOT looking for:

• Slow travel time in bullets.
  • Very slow rate of fire.
  • Weak sound design (Soma, for example, sounds like you're sticking a piece of paper in a fan).
  • Anything that uses sniper ammunition. 
  • Heavy muzzle climb. 

What I've tried that I like:

• I really like the Braton. It handles great, sounds awesome, bucks like a mule but still has good point control. I leveled the MK-1 and regular Braton some time ago, and am missing one part for the Prime. In the meantime, looking for other options.