Jade Shadows: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Frames And Individuality (A Lore Discussion)

_Corva

Hi folks! This is my first time posting an idea of mine here, but the thought in question gained some traction on Reddit (http://redd.it/1j485w) over the past day, so I'm curious to see what you all might think of it.

Anywho -

Last time I checked, the discussion on whether there should be both male and female versions of each Warframe hadn't really gone anywhere; the Devs, at least, weren't really decided on if they wanted Frames to be their own characters, or just a suit the player character wears. Given that the last few frames have been full of personality, I think that DE's opinion has sort of leaned towards the former. But even if that's what we end up going with, there's still problem of how one explains a four Vauban squad. Are they all clones? If Vauban is a real dude, a real Tenno warrior, which one of the group is the real Vauban?

Say there was a real Vauban, in a bygone era before contemporary Tenno went into cryosleep. This Vauban of history died long ago, but the Tenno of the present become him whenever they wear the frame dedicated to his image. This could just be shift in personality, or it could very well be a literal transformation: male Tenno become Mag, female Tenno become Rhino, etc. Such life-altering technology already exists in the form of the Infested, and their technocyte plague is Orokin-made just like all the Frames are.

This'd have all sorts of cool undertones in what we're told is a Tenno culture of honorable warriors: distinguish yourself, become a legend in your own right, and perhaps one day a Warframe will be dedicated to you. Perhaps immortalizing your legend is a very literal truth in Tenno society, given that our fourteen frames survive long after their original inspirations died.