The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Heavy Unit Ahead! 1000 Posts, Get Ready For A Text Wall!

Marshall

Hello, world!

What an honour for me to speak to an international audience :D

I heard you are eager to learn more about the famous TRSS.

Well then, my children! Sit down and listen to my stories.

When I got my first personal computer, I did not get in touch with the Internet very much. Instead, I wanted to know

how I could use it for creating visual art since I am an avid drawer and artist.
My parents ply a media business what made it easy for them to get me programs like Photoshop (image editing),
Coreldraw (vector editing) and Cinema 4D (3d modelling). For this purpose, you need a decent machine to run
such software, especially 3D stuff. At this time, I had no idea that I could run cool video games with this thing.

Some years later, we got an Internet connection at home (previously my parents used it only for business at
their working place) what granted me access to a new world: Media whenever I need it! Music, images, videos,
etc etc. That was awesome for me because I didn't need to get magazines to do.... certain stuff, you know.

As I spent time on browsing the web, I found advertisement for various online games. I really wanted to know
what it is like to play against actual humans so I needed to download such a game. The ones that looked like
you could shoot enemies in the head were kinda attractive to me. The problem was that most titles of well
known publishers cost a lot of money and need confirmation of age in my country in order to allow downloading
a copy... The search for free to play titles was born.

Quake Live, man! My first online multiplay shooter! I will never forget it :D It was playable in Firefox with a plugin ^^
I liked the challenge, everything was fast paced and required quick reaction. Really cool was the fact that
nobody is overpowered nor underpowered because you bascially have the same gear.