Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

A Few Planetary...suggestions? Facts?

Chamomileable

Now, I realize that the devs are working their butts off, and the game is still in open beta, but I thought I would mention a few things that are currently a little dumb about the "smart" level design. I know I'll sound like I'm whining, but I think that making each planet feel unique will keep the game from getting as tedious. I'm not an astronomer, but I've got a little knowledge about space, and I figured I'd give some handy info about planets and such so maybe one day we can have the levels feel a little less samey between planets. I'm not too good with big pictures so I'd love to hear any ideas people get from the info.

-Mercury makes three rotations about its axis for every two revolutions around its orbit, which means that you're only going to see the sun move across the sky once every two mercurian years. This means things are going to be very hot and very dry. Lots of light from the sun since it's the closest planet to it. Installations on Mercury would be better suited underground due to the intense radiation on the surface.

-Venus is hotter than Mercury despite being farther away from the sun due to the fact that it has an atmosphere. Looking out ultra heat-resistant glass onto mercury would be like looking into a furnace, with molten craters and flaming clouds of carbon dioxide beneath an outer atmosphere of sulfuric acid clouds.

-Earth during Warframe has been completely ravaged by the Grineer, and I really don't know much else about it.

-Mars' surface is covered in red iron oxide "dust" that gives the planet its color. It wouldn't be unheard of to colonize since it has a thin atmosphere, but dust storms would pose a hazard to electrical equipment.