The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Bow and arrows revamped?

-AT-volfide

Hello everyone,

I started playing Warframe somewhere around Update 14.5 and I've really enjoyed how it evolved to what it is today. I'm a huge fan of bows, although lately I haven't been using them as much for my daily Warframe farming because the most recent bows simply don't catch my interest somehow. I've been thinking on a bow that could be introduced to the game that could spice things up a bit.

IRL I'm an archer too, and this is my current bow, a Hoyt Podium Elite 40

14138393_1496500233708764_567604464_n.jp

It's a compound bow. Basically the cams (wheels on top & bottom) make the drawing a lot easier and gives the user a let-off when on full-draw. It then has stabilizers (side and middle poles) and a scope to take aim.

The stabilizers could be a bit too much in-game, but why not having a bow that:

1. Grineer-faction bow, with same mechanics as a compound bow
  2. Can only fire in full-draw
  3. Have a damage multiplier AND flat critical chance increase while using the scoped vision like a sniper rifle?

I'd call it Stochos... Greek for target (yay google translate?)

10865928_1147961565229301_39323068368858

Picture from my previous and first bow, for inspirational purposes :) Hoyt Vectrix XL

There are also shorter stabilizers for hunting purposes. Probably more adequate to be introduced in Warframe.

Anywho, I'm not here just to suggest a new bow. The game itself has so much potential that could be explored by looking at the arrows.

Let's take a look at some of the in-game arrows from the three basic bows:

220?cb=20140101053338The Cernos, being an impact dedicated bow has blunt-shaped arrows.

220?cb=20130803113733The Paris default arrows are simply narrow sharp needles dedicated to ridicule Grineer armor.

220?cb=20130929141831Would you look at that, the arrow tip is a blade so I guess it slices things!