Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Heavy Machine Guns For The Ninjas

--Q--Nagling

I've been playing Warframe for over two years and I've been quite satisfied with the diversity of weapons that are offered. However, I do feel that we're missing a heavy machine gun from this game. I know that some people will say that it won't be very stealthy/ninjaish, but we already have very ninjaish weapons such as grenade launchers.

For me the idea of a heavy machine gun is the potential for ridiculous firepower (yes, ridiculous, bare with me), but with a cost. So in general the heavy machine gun would provide lots of firepower for a group of tenno, but the tenno operating the machine gun cannot equip other weapons and cannot shoot the gun until it is planted on the ground. Afterwards the gun is planted it will have a narrowish cone to shoot and several guns couldn't be planted near each other (just to prevent stacking machine guns on each other eg. in a defence and shooting the everything to pieces). Also when the weapon is planted, the operating Tenno will lose his/her Warframe-abilities and they will be replaced with modification option of the machine gun.

For example:

+ Ridiculous firepower

+ Machinegun specific modifications

-> 1: Normal rounds (only effects come from mods equipped on the weapon). No energy cost

-> 2: Shrapnell rounds (enemies hit will have a slash proc and enemies near the original target will take some radial slash damage). Costs x-energy per shot.

-> 3: Piercing rounds (gives innate punch through to all shots fired). Costs x-energy per shot.

-> 4: Last stand (Greatly enhances the fire rate, damage and status chance of shots). Costs x% per second, while firing, draining all energy in ~6seconds.

While carrying the machinegun:

- Unable to operate the weapon until planted.

- Slowed movement.

- Unable to equip other weapons.

- Planting the weapon and dismantling it has a cast time (~4 sec each).

Machinegun is planted: