Jade Shadows: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

How Much Voltage Do I Need Guys?

Legacies

Well guys, I'm new to pc building but I do have knowledge on parts except for Poweer supplies. Here's my build.

Amd Fx 8320 CPU

Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0

RAM: 8GB Kingston HyperX BLU (1 stick)

GPU: EVEE(Nvidia) 750ti super clocked (supposedly using 300w

Now below are not as important but for those curious

Case: Rosewill Challanger

Now for psu

PSU:?????

Any knowledge on how much voltage it needs? I have in mind maybe around 500v but not to go overkill with 750. However, if 750W is needed, I'll buy it, but first,I'm asking you guys to see what psu is more compatible

Seconded Atmo's suggestion. If your power supply goes bad, it can fry your entire setup, so it's one of the things you really shouldn't skimp out on.

I also recommend that you make sure the PSU you buy is one that has some solid reviews behind it. An acquaintance of mine got a cheap PSU and his poor motherboard got overloaded within a few months, and lost everything.

I'm thinking about the Cosair's 750w CX. It has plenty of reviews. I have seen some 750w for only 20$ by OCZ gameXtreme SLI approved by Nvidia. However, just like what happened to your friend is what I'm gonna avoid. However, if you guys have good psus, I'm happily gonna go into it

it'll be fine with a 500w PSU. you'll still have overhead. the CPU is going to be using most of the power in that situation.

i'd probably go with something in the 650w range though, since PSU's are fairly inexpensive, even from the best manufacturers.

and i'd only buy from the best manufacturers. ones with good reputations. if a PSU has a critical failure your entire machine could blow up. literally. an explosion. so don't buy cheapo ones.

you don't need to worry about the 750Ti at all, they have a TDP of 68Watts. they use basically no Electricity.