Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Thinking of building a PC.

LordOfScrugging

So my laptop i've been playing warframe on for 3 years is pretty bad. it's struggling to play some games, warframe (with it's constant graphical updates) is one of them. I decided i should start saving to build a PC but don't know where to start looking for the components. I'm looking for recommendations on components so i know what are good parts to buy and so i can somewhat gauge how much i'd have to save up in order to purchase the parts.

6 minutes ago, RevivedEdgeLord said:

What's your budget?

Try looking at Newegg, or NCIX if you live in north america (they have good discounts). Otherwise your local craigslist for used parts. Keep in mind the shipping cost.

I don't have a budget as of yet. i'm just trying to see what some recommendations (like which graphics card would be great, or a good type of motherboard, etc.) would be and try to formulate a budget after that.

Edited by LordOfScrugging

Here's one for just over $500 USD. Which should run newer games just fine. Operating system not included. The price came up as CAD for me, $691.91 CAD -> 501.58 USD.

http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/4DJvgs

Tips in general:

Nvidia -> AMD in general due to Nvidia taking advantage of AMD's open sourced software and incorporating it within their own cards. They also don't reveal their software to AMD, therefore games made with Nvidia will always be have Nvidia cards being superior to AMD cards.

Intel > AMD: Intel cards cost more but are much better in performance without tweaking.

Go for at least a Bronze level power supply.

Edited by RevivedEdgeLord