Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

A F2P Business Lesson From League Of Legends

Malchia7

First off, this is in the gameplay feedback forum because there is no 'market/store' feedback area.

So first off, the game itself is great, I'm still learning and the game has such massive depth there's lots to learn.

This post is about the single biggest annoyance I've run into so far, and amazingly enough, its not the grineer commanders swapping me, or the disruptors chain stunning me; rather it's the marketplace and some of the F2P mechanics that show a real lack of research when it comes to the F2P marketplace.

I use League of Legends(LoL) as a primary reference as it is the most profitable F2P game on the market, and there are very good reasons for that. For reference LoL has two currencies, IP and RP, with RP being the real money purchased currency and IP being earned via playing the game.

The market

The UI for the market is very cumbersome and confusing. Specifically, having the warframe/weapon and its BP so far apart makes finding what you're looking for a frustration.

Lessons from LoL:

-Buying things both with credits and with platinum needs to be *easy*. You gain nothing by making it harder for people to use your store.

-Everyone is going to get some things via credits, even those who spend money on platinum. Causing frustration for those players drives them away from the game, and prevents further platinum purchases. Again, buying with credits *must* be just as easy as buying with platinum.

suggestion: either split the blueprints into a seperate sub-tab under warframe/weapon/equipment/etc, or merge the item listing with its blueprint listing and use seperate buttons for buying via platinum vs buying via credits. LoL does the latter, you can buy any champion via IP or RP, from the same screen. Applying either solution makes your store easier to navigate, and easier to buy from for all your players.

The inventory system