Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Thoughts On Controls, Movement, Customization, Melee, Ninjaing, Etc.

zelgaris

Hello there fellow tennos,

I was thinking about this topic since I started playing Warframe back in the closed beta when I thought "It's just a futuristic Vindictus cross Gunz" and I am thinking about the movement and controls more since I started searching for exploits, gaps and other errors in maps, which are usually accessible through some basic or advanced ninjaing, i.e. wall jumping, wall running, slide-somersault-jumping, etc. Those bring me to some really interesting places (see Secret/Interesting Locations, More secret rooms in missions and my so far favorite Map Errors, Invisible Walls, etc.) some of them actually occupied with lootable lockers, some of them empty and some of them sending me to a long fall out of the map :)

Considering the above mentioned games I've played and considerably enjoyed in past, Vindictus feel similar in the movement and controls (although having different, Fantasy, setting), yet its melee system and the feel of every slash is superb to Warframe limited approach to melee, while Gunz feels like movement, jumps and attacks have no weight (easy to control, but it feels weird). For you, who played those two games like me, Waframe indeed plays like a cross between them - and I have to say a really good one.

So far for introduction, let's tackle the topic. We already have some controls customization options and even some semi-advanced options like setting crouch to ON/OFF rather than "hold" (which is great considering what crouch button does (slides, kicks) and the fact that most of normal keyboards don't have n-key rollover and we are limited to 3-4 simultaneous key combinations).