The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Complaints stay about constant while updates get more and more ambitious - or - "DE love thread"

punkrockwarlord

Hi - first time poster long time reader.

While the level of whining about updates is about constant since I started playing, the amount of content DE drops in an update is huge compared to 2012. I.e  DE's improvement in development, QC, delivery, roadmap, and follow through is difficult to appreciate for newer players.

I've played Warframe since update 7 (2012/3?). Since that time, I feel like the amount of complaints per each update has been pretty stable on average - some more, some less. Over this span DE's ambitions have generally increased til the amount of content introduced, tweaked, experimented with is (literally) orders of magnitudes more than the early days (introducing moas was a mainline update for Chrissakes). Now they drop whole new worlds populated with new enemies, NPCs, play styles, missions...  DE's matured tremendously and the credit goes to the management and the player community outreach program.

DE's player community is noticeably different than any other developer. Imagine Gearbox, Blizzard, EA, et al. running Warframe.... although other developers' treatment of their player communities speaks for itself. Afaik the credit for this goes to Rebecca Ford, and to a lesser extent the DE management for not getting in her way. And this started at the beginning because it was the smart thing to do. Back at that time other developers failed to realize the partnership they could have with players: from banning complainers from game forums, to introducing universally reviled game features. DE got it right.