Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Impact, Puncture, And Slash Mods Question

Xandielm

Question

So i just started playing warframe again and am still learning the new damage system.  I know how elemental mods work now and that each weapon has its total damage split into 3 (sometimes 2) types of damage: impact, puncture, and slash.  I was wondering if the mods that increase impact, puncture, or slash are worth equipping?  

I feel like now its just a waste of mod space and elemental damage, plus damage, and multi shot mods are the only real options for increasing the damage on weapons (also reload speed/firing speed mods).

Am I right or do I have it completely wrong?

P.S. are the mods that increase damage to certain enemy types worth it like expel corpus?

Edited by Xandielm

8 answers to this question

The mods that increase the damage of a type is the percentage of that damage type, not total. So it is a total waste to put a +5% puncture damage to a weapon it has no puncture damage by itself. That said, it is beneficial to put a physical damage mod for the damage that it is the highest.

Weapon stat example:

0 puncture

50 slash

100 impact

A mod for +10% puncture would do absolutely nothing.

A +10% slash would make the weapon deal 5 more slash damage.

A +10% impact would do an additional 10 impact.

Elemental mods do take from the total of the added physical damage, so a +10% fire would do an extra 15 fire damage. ((100 + 50)  * 10 / 100 = 15)

I am not quite sure about Serration. I think it increases all the physical attributes, but not the elemental ones.

Multishot is always good.

I think the specific faction damage is applied like Serration but only if the target is of that faction. However, this is a total guess, I personally have never used them at all.