Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Running Regressions On Weapon Stats

azmyth1

I am a statistician by day, so I enjoy analyzing the numbers on a statistics heavy game like Warframe.  I've been running regressions on the various characteristics that weapons have and would like to share my conclusions:

Primes do about 90% more damage than non-primes.  Makes sense, but I think the Mastery Rank (MR) minimum on primes should be 4 to compensate.

Damage falloff weapons also do around 90% more damage. This may be due to heavy hitters like the Akbronko and Brakk.

Primary weapons do 25% more damage than secondaries, which I attribute to DE trying to compensate for the worse mods.  If mods ever get rebalanced, Secondaries should get a pretty broad 25% buff.

Travel time adds about 60% more damage.  Seems a bit high, but the direction makes sense.  There are lots of good weapons in this category: bolto, boltor, bows, anything with a "b", really.

Accurate weapons do less damage.  1 point of accuracy (on a scale of 100) is associated with about 0.8% less damage.  Maybe this is a bit low, but the direction is correct.

MR is not correlated with damage (!!!).  That means if you take a random high MR weapon, it is not likely to be more powerful than a random low MR weapon.  There are plenty of garbage weapons with very high mastery ranks: Supra, Grinlok, Tigris, Embolist, Acrid. They all need a buff badly.  Simultaneously, very powerful weapons with low MR, such as the Bolto and Vasto, should have their MR increased to 3 at least.  This would add a better sense of progressing to better weapons with higher MR.

AOE has no impact on single target DPS.  The power of the Angstrum and the Penta cancel out the weakness of the Ignis, Embolist, and Torid.  In my opinion, AOE weapons should have about 30% less single-target DPS since they can hit multiple targets.