The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Elemental Mods Are Too Good

Gildemesh

When I started playing Warframe, I thought elements would be like specializing yourself. You fight one kind of enemy poorly, and another more effectively. You even get a new kind of proc to sweeten the deal. After a while, though, I noticed that the damage boost granted by elemental mods were very powerful. In fact, I could completely ignore enemy resistances; my damage output was too high.

With the addition of the "event" mods combined with raw damage boosts (Serration, ect.), you can gain an extreme boost to DPS. I feel that elemental mods are part of the reason why Tenno mow down enemies so quickly. Shouldn't the damage boost from enemy weaknesses, combined with a special proc, be enough?

Sure, from event mods alone, you get a moderate 60% damage boost. But, when combined with the other event mods, and raw damage boosting, plus weaknesses, you become insanely powerful. 240% damage boost are common, and you can equip a catalyst to bolster this even further. The only thing that can take more than a single burst from a well-modded Burston Prime is a boss-type enemy. This should not be the case.

I propose that we remove the damage buff that elemental mods give, and make it so they only grant elemental types. I'm not sure what upgrading an elemental mod would do after that, but it could offer alternatives (X% chance to inflict an elemental proc).

It's a drastic change, but it would prevent enemies from being torn apart with a single click. Not to mention, this is only weapons.  It is still possible to stack on things like Sonar to get even more damage, but that would take power. Thus, the change would require more effort to kill a group of enemies, and prevent players from absolutely destroying an elite squad of militaristic space marines without even having to reload.