Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Volt Feedback and Report

Volt_Cruelerz

Intro: The Volt is a bit of a touchy subject.. It's been the subject of nerfs and the situation remains very.. delicate.. Here I try to explore some of the balance issues behind it and approach it with the desire of quelling the nerf crowd while still allowing it to be fun to play as. I have about 60 hours of gametime at this point and hover around rank 600. Most of my time playing has been with the Volt. I also built and am currently leveling Mag and have played games where all that happened was Volts run in, ult and everything dies. It wasn't fun. As such, I feel like I understand both sides of the issue rather well.

I'm also a game developer for an FPS+Z, a developer for a TBS, and run a popular balance mod for an RTS so hopefully I'm not completely inept at this lol. I really try to look at balance problems objectively and unfortunately in cases like this game, I've been forced to rely on the subjective opinions of others and have said things on behalf of that. Hating that I had to use others as a crutch, I decided to do some testing to see just how powerful the Volt is and then approach balance issues surrounding the Volt more objectively. Overall, I believe I have succeeded in this, though I suppose the commenters will judge for themselves whether I was successful or not.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Damage Calculations: I have done some calculations to try to get the exact damage dealt by him against enemies. I assume that this source is correct. https://forums.warfr...nemies-and-you/

What follows are my findings. Note that my testing is only for max level Shock and Overload and done on Pluto, Eris, and Ceres to demonstrate what happens once things are maxed. I do not use any power damage boosting mods nor do I have the Storm helmet. These results are for "stock" rank 30 Volt with maxed out Shock and Overload.