Dante Unbound: Known Issues ×
Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Damage 2.0 Is Deep, Interesting, And Well Done. But Pointless.

WhiteCopain

I love damage 2.0. I'm a vet who's played since Closed beta and I just sat down today to really mess with it and learn it. And man is it really well done. It's awesome, and I love it! It's balanced with a series of of benefits and sacrifices, ensuring no gun is able to just easily get bonus damage on everything (well, easily anyway, I'm sure there's certain people out there who have found a "just right" combo).

But it's pointless because of Rhino and Nova.

Why? Because they walk into a room, press 4, and everything dies. I can spend hours trying to get the exact points I want on my weapon, but it's pointless as long as these frames exist. Nova presses 4 and not only does it make me only need to kill one target in a room for everything to start exploding and killing each other, but it also makes the target slower (unable to fight back basically) and take more damage. The same goes for Rhino. Stomp deals inane damage and CC's forever.

And these abilities don't even have a real CD aside from energy, which with Energy Siphon and some mods for lower cost, higher totals, isn't a real issue.

To test this I did some survival runs (T2 mostly) and when I wasn't Nova, we got to about 20 Minutes before we started feeling cautious on T2, 25 is around where we would need to go. With Nova, we were easily going to 30+ minutes because we'd just have to kill one thing in the room for everything to die. Any fear we had of something surviving was mitigated because Rhino would press 4 with Nova and so anything that lived, was CC'd.

This is absurd. It's not fun or challenging. It takes the gameplay and makes it stand around and wait for more spawns, not shoot and slash through hordes of enemies while playing smart. There's nothing difficult about this.