The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Double Bladed Sword - Need Visual Design Ideas

Irkie500

Greetings Community!

I have a passion for 3d design and I have never done a weapon before, so I figured I would try my hand at a weapon that does not exist yet. General design ideas are that it is a Tenno based weapon, is two bladed, no innate properties (fire, electric, toxic ect) and that's really it.

Going by traditional Tenno design it should be based off something that can relate to the "real" world so to speak. The Lex for example looks like a stylized Colt 1911, so the sword design should be based off something that already exists, then add some flair.

Tenno weapons tend to be clean and functional with no extra "bits" on them, so the design will be streamlined and look like it could be used in the real world without any special technology.

If anyone can find some solid reference images, either online or their own concept art please share it here, I need some solid ideas to work with. I have a very creative mind but I need at least something to draw inspiration from.

I hope to get it completely modeled and maybe even fire off a render to show off the finished product, and hey maybe if I'm lucky get it in the game!

If anyone has any suggestions please let me know. I want to get started on this tonight!

Edited by Irkie500

Double bladed? as in this?

Double-Sided.jpg

Or did you mean double edged?

The picture is what I meant. Hard to describe as it can be interpreted in a few different ways.

@momoynator the second sword your talking about is called a wakizashi, which was carried as mainly a defensive blade or backup weapon by samurai. A samurai Miyamoto Musashi is considered to be the founder of dual wielding katanas or possibly a katana and wakizashi, this was considered extremely unconventional for the time and teachings.

See my post directly above yours for what I mean...