The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

The coming problem with cross play/save

So I am a long time veteran player with over 8000 hours according to steam and I don't leave my game running unless I'm playing it so you can take that to the bank. I've run game servers of my own across multiple games over the years and I've got a certain amount of experience in general with the pulse of gamers. With my "probably inadequate for the internet's standards" credentials out of the way, I'm here to tell you that if you want Switch and Mobile players to be included in the cross save ecosystem going forward a HUGE discussion and overhaul NEEDS to happen to matchmaking and the background peer-to-peer decision making process.

Cross save is a wonderful feature with no lack of issues and problems, mostly rotating around trading right now and to be blunt, that's probably the biggest priority at the moment and I get that. However, I see a whole host of issues for players going forward in the crossplay side of life unless a lot of issues are addressed with how we connect with other people. Peer-to-peer has always been a shaky if economical schema but it has a host of built in problems that haven't been addressed in a long time. That wasn't a problem before cross play but it's becoming an increasingly bigger problem now.